Time to Submit Nominations for the Swedish Steel Prize

The 16th annual Swedish Steel Prize will be awarded to innovative manufacturers for design and construction in high strength steels. The award intends to inspire and increase knowledge about steels and the possibilities they provide to develop lighter, safer, and more environmentally-friendly products.

The application period for nominations for Swedish Steel Prize 2014 is now open and the final date for applications is August 15. The winner will be announced this November at a ceremony in Stockholm. The prize is worth SEK 100,000 and the theme for Swedish Steel Prize 2014 is “Courage – Let’s Break the Box.”

“The Swedish Steel Prize is growing in importance year by year and we look forward to receiving exciting nominations to this year’s competition,” says Gregoire Parenty, the chairman of the Swedish Steel Prize jury and the head of market at SSAB.

Since the competition started in 1999, more than 700 nominations have been received from throughout the world. The percentage of international participants is increasing each year and all parts of the globe are represented.

The 2013 winner was Mack Trucks, which is part of the Volvo Group and one of the largest automotive companies in the U.S. The company was awarded the prize for its suspension system in which the qualities of high strength steel are exploited in an innovative fashion.

The suspension system solution has resulted in improved road performance and reduced tire wear by up to 25 percent. The new suspension system also increases vehicle safety and driver comfort.

“When the jury assesses received nominations, we proceed on the basis of a number of important criteria such as applicability, profitability, environmental improvement, performance enhancement, innovation, and competitiveness,” says Gregoire Parenty.

In addition to Gregoire Parenty, the jury consists of:

  •  Lennart Bergqvist -Management consultant, LBQ Consulting
  •  Sture Hogmark – Professor Emeritus in Materials Science and Tribology, Uppsala University
  •  Claes Magnusson – Professor in Production Technology, Kristianstad University
  •  Jan Gunnar Persson – Professor in Machine Design, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  •  Jan-Olof Sperle – Professor in Lightweight Construction, KTH Royal Institute of Technology and Uppsala University, Sperle Consulting

For more information about the nomination criteria and what the application must contain, visit www.steelprize.com. For further information, please contact: Marie Elfstrand, the director of external communications, at +46 8-45 45 734, or Susanne Nordhqwist, the marketing manager, at +46 155-254 381.